DUI FAQS

You’ve been arrested for drunk driving and now you are wondering what’s next? What is going to happen to me? Am I going to prison? Will I lose my license? It’s a scary thing, but you are not alone, call RENO DUI LAW FIRM at (775) 786-5791 . We can help!

Q. What are the penalties in Nevada for a first offence DUI?

A. Under Nevada law a person who is convicted for the first offense of driving under the influence faces some or all of the following in terms of punishment:

• A fine no less than $400 and no more than $1000
• 48 hours to 6 months jail time
• 90 day suspension, restriction, or even revocation of your driver’s license
• probation
• mandatory enrollment and completion of a course in alcohol or drug counseling
• The installation of an ignition interlock device

I had a DUI years ago, will that effect my current DUI?

A. Yes, a DUI can remain on your driving record for life. The fact that there has been years between DUI offenses, will normally mean that the penalties will increase.

If you are convicted of a second DUI face 10 days to 6 month in jail. The fine increases to no less than $750 and no more than $1000. The DMV will suspend your license for 1 year.

What are the consequences if I have had more than 1 prior DUI?

A third offense increases those penalties further. Jail time is increase to a minimum of 1 year and a maximum of 6 years. Fines are increased to a minimum of $2000 and a maximum of $5000. Additionally the DMV will suspend your license for 3 years. You will be required to have an ignition interlock system installed on any future vehicles you drive.

Are there any circumstances that can change the standard sentancing for a DUI?

A. There are several factors that could potentially increase the standard penalties. Those factors include:

• If you are under 21 years of age
• A BAC level above .18%
• The defendant refuses to submit to chemical testing
• DUI while driving a commercial vehicle
• DUI while in a construction or work zone
• DUI while there is a child in the car
• DUI causes substantial bodily harm, death is felony DUI

How Can Hiring You Effect My Case?

My first goal is to always do what is to represent your best interest. This may include several options including having your case dismissed.

While dismissals are not possible in every case, another option may be to negotiate a “deal” with the prosecuter. These deals, also known as “plea bargains” can often reduce your potential sentence or eliminate some or all of the charges brought against you. However, prosecutors are often unwilling to negotiate with defendants that represent themselves.

Additionally, there may be sentencing alternatives for your situation. In the event that you are found guilty, I may be able to workout your sen

For example we have successfully plea bargained many DUI charges to reckless driving charges. Reckless driving charges allow you to avoid jail time, and losing your license. Your criminal history will still show an arrest for a DUI, but the entry will show the amended charge. Your DMV record will show a reckless driving or an +8 point violation, but we can request the DMV to allow you to attend traffic school dropping the +8 points to +5 points, not only allowing you to keep your license but allowing you to avoid being cancelled by your insurance policy.