FELONY DUI

Being arrested for a Felony DUI is a serious charge that carries with it mandatory prison time. There are three ways under Nevada Law in which you would be charged with a Felony DUI
• Third DUI Conviction within 7 years
• If you are involved in a DUI where there is a death or substantial injury to a passenger in your car, pedestrian, or occupants of another vehicle
• If you have previously been convicted of a felony DUI, any subsequent convictions will also be a felony

Nevada law prohibits judges from sentencing those convicted of a Felony DUI to probation. This means…IF you are convicted of a Felony DUI you are going to prison.

If you or a loved one has been arrested for a Felony DUI, you need an experienced DUI lawyer. Call RENO DUI LAW FIRM at (775) 786-5791 – we can help!

THIRD OFFENSE DUI

If you are convicted of a third DUI offense within a 7 year period you will be charged with a Class B Felony with mandatory prison time. Sentencing for a third offense includes:
• Prison: The Nevada State Law requires upon conviction the court must impose a sentence between 1 and 6 years in the Nevada State Prison system.
• Assessments and Fines: The court must impose fines of at least $2,000 and a maximum of $5,000 in addition to court costs. • Driver’s License: The DMV will revoke the driving privileges for 3 years
• Court Ordered Suspension of Driving Privileges: In addition to the DMV restrictions a third DUI conviction charged as a felony requires the court can impose a driver’s license suspension of 3 to 5 years. The license cannot be reinstated until at least 1 year after your release from custody.
• Additional Penalties: Before a restricted license is granted, an ignition interlock device must be installed on any vehicles, SR-22 insurance and other requirements must be met.
• Alcohol Treatment: The court may require you to pay for and complete an alcohol treatment program approved the Health Department of Nevada for a period of three years.

Any additional DUIs are also charged as a felony. For example a 4th DUI carries with it a minimum of 2 years and a maximum of 20 years in prison.

UNDER 18 DUI

While an underage driver over the age of consent (18 – 20) arrested for a DUI will be cited with a misdemeanor traffic violation much the way a driver over the age of 21 would be. Minors under the age of 18 are prosecuted in the juvenile court and the DUI is charged as a felony – a charge that carries more weight and stigma.

NON LEGAL CONSEQUENCES OF AN UNDERAGE DUI

Many schools and universities have their own penalties for students or prospective students who are convicted of a DUI. These consequences on a school level may include suspension, expulsion, disqualification from after school activities and sports as well as trouble getting into colleges.

In many cases we have been able to have the charges dismissed completely or reduced the lesser charge of reckless driving. Unlike a DUI charge which will cause a license to be suspended, reckless driving convictions cause +8 demerit points on a DMV record and can be reduced by attending traffic school. Additionally reckless driving records can be sealed from a criminal record in two years as opposed to seven years for a drunk driving.

You deserve an affordable and experienced DUI attorney who will aggressively defend you and will fight for your rights – at RENO DUI LAW FIRM at (775) 786-5791 it’s what we do!